About CCIO

SUNY - Council Of Chief Information Officers

The SUNY Council of CIOs is a professional organization that was founded in 2001 as a collaborative opportunity for IT leadership at State University of New York (SUNY) campuses to exchange ideas, promote innovation and creativity, and to provide an influential contribution to improving our campuses and SUNY. Collectively, our membership possesses hundreds of years of experience with technology leadership in higher education, and by working together towards common goals we have opportunities to achieve much more than any single campus could on their own.

CCIO provides professional development opportunities for its members as well as a forum to discuss and pilot new technology solutions.  CCIO members actively participate on SUNY committees providing strategic technological contributions.  In addition, CCIO has liaison relationships with other SUNY professional organizations including SUBOA, CCBOA, SUNYRA, etc.

CCIO is a valuable partner to its members, campuses and SUNY.

The work of the CCIO is led by a team of four officers:

Chair: Sean Moriarty (Oswego State)
Vice Chair: Eileen Wirley (Monroe Community College)
Treasurer: Monica Papagni (Jefferson Community College)
Secretary: Greg Roth (Fulton Montgomery Community College)


In addition to the officers, the CCIO executive committee membership includes a primary representative from each sector:

Melissa Woo (Stony Brook University)

Comprehensive Colleges
Evan Kobolakis (Old Westbury) | Dr. David M. Demers (Buffalo State)

Technical Colleges
Michael A. Case (Alfred State College) | Kyle Brown (SUNY Canton and SUNY Potsdam)

Community Colleges
John Taylor (Finger Lakes Community College)